While a DUI is classified as one of the least serious misdemeanor offenses in Florida, it can be a difficult cross to bear. If arrested for DUI in Tampa, you will likely have pressing questions:
- Will I lose my driver’s license?
- Will I need to spend time in jail?
- Will my employer be able to fire me for a DUI?
- What will happen at my first court appearance?
How DUI is proven in Florida
In Hillsborough County, in order to be convicted of DUI, the prosecutor must prove that you were in physical control of the vehicle while you:
- Had a verifiable blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher.
- Were impaired by alcohol and/or drugs. Verification can be proven by observation, urine testing and seizures made from the vehicle.
No matter the manner in which the DUI is proven, the penalties in Florida, upon the first conviction will include:
- License revocation.
- A fine of $500 – $1,000.
- Imprisonment for not more than nine months.
Each subsequent conviction for each additional DUI offense in Florida will result in more severe penalties. The penalties will include:
- A fine of $2,000 - $4,000.
- Imprisonment for not more than twelve months.
It is important that, if faced with a Florida DUI charge, whether it is your first charge or a subsequent charge that you fight with every legal defense at your disposal.
Will I be able to get on with my life?
Do not despair, there is always hope! In many Hillsborough County DUI cases, it will be possible for my office to help you:
- Keep your license.
- Avoid time spent in jail.
- Potentially beat the charges.
Contact DUI Defense Lawyer Charley Demosthenous
If you or a family member are facing DUI charges, call the Demosthenous Law Firm today at 813-857-8237 to schedule a free case consultation.